International Documentary Association – 2010 Award Nominees

by Melissa Silverstein on October 28, 2010

in Awards,Documentary,Women Directors

Barbara Kopple

In a confirmation that the doc world is so much better on the gender issue, women directors are nominated alongside their male colleagues in pretty equal numbers for the 2010 IDA awards.  Women still get nominated more when they work with male partners, but it’s hard to complain since lots of docs nowadays are made in partnerships because it takes so damn long to get them done.

News of note: Women directors feature in 3 of the 5 nominees for the feature documentary award as well as for the short documentary award.

The ceremony will take place in LA on December 3rd and Barbara Kopple will receive a lifetime achievement award.

Here are some of the female nominees:

Distinguished Feature Documentary Nominees
“The Oath” – Director: Laura Poitras
“Sweetgrass” – Directors: Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor
“Waste Land” – Director/Writer: Lucy Walker

Distinguished Short Documentary Nominees
“Woman Rebel” – Director/Producer: Kiran Deol
“The Fence” – Director/Producer: Rory Kennedy
“The Last Truck” – Directors/Writers/Producers: Steven Bognar, Julia Reichert

List of nominees
International Documentary Association


{ 1 comment… read it below or add one }

prestige rattan sofa October 2, 2014 at 5:00 AM

Fantastic website, been exploring forever and a day for tips on the best rattan furniture for our home and in our garden. The site sincerely helpedgreat blog some great
info here

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: